Heading South

One aspect of modelling which I really miss, is standing on one leg with the other foot in my ear! I suppose I should fess up to the obvious. That isn’t me in the fashion pic below, but it’s one of those poses you’re expected to do. I can hear the tog saying “Leg up love, further, that’s a girl. And hold it, hold it”!

moda

You wonder why we think selling flowers is a doddle!

We’ve been on a learning curve Saz and I. Learning the intricacies of flower arranging, and the difference between flower arranging and floristry. You didn’t know there was a difference? Neither did we!

Now the tables are turned, as Doreen is learning about lingerie, and learning all about our side of the business. I’ll give an explanation, in case you’re a bit lost.

Just before Christmas, Saz and I became almost equal partners in Doreen’s long established floristry business. As part of the deal, we gave her an almost equal share of our not quite so long established lingerie business. Everything is almost equal, Doreen retains a majority in her business, we retain a majority in ours.

February is a busy month in the world of fashion. London Fashion Week is scheduled for Feb 15th, but that’s high end fashion, with top designers showing their Spring/Summer collections. The mid market fashion show, the one we are interested in, is called Moda. The Moda show is in February too, and the Spring/Summer show is always hosted by the NEC (National Exhibition Center) in Birmingham, slightly nearer to home than London. Birmingham is about 100 miles south, which is about an hours drive on a clear day.

Saz and I want to take Doreen down to the NEC, so she can meet the lingerie companies we deal with. It’s also a chance for her to go to something she has never seen before. The real reason we want to go, is to see what else is available, anything worth adding to our range for the future..

In this day and age, being different puts you in a niche, it’s just a matter of sourcing the right lines. Moda here we come!

Kelly x

2 thoughts on “Heading South

  1. glad to see updates here also glad I dont have to put my leg up in the air like that to do cost analysis? Makes me appreciate my job

Leave a comment